The distinguished editorial board members of Annals of Blood

The distinguished editorial board members of Annals of Blood

Editorial Office

Annals of Blood (AOB), Guangzhou 512000, China

Correspondence to: Editorial Office. Annals of Blood (AOB), Guangzhou 512000, China. Email:

Received: 25 December 2016; Accepted: 25 December 2016; Published: 05 January 2017.

doi: 10.21037/aob.2016.12.01

The editorial board of Annals of Blood (AOB) was honored to have Prof. Jean-Pierre Allain, Prof. Kenrad E. Nelson and Prof. Sentot Santoso join the editorial board as the founding members in AOB journal when launched in November 2016. All of them are outstanding scientists and pioneers in this field.

Prof. Jean-Pierre Allain (Figure 1) received his medical degree in hematology and PhD in biochemistry from University of Paris. From 1991, He worked as the head and professor of Transfusion Medicine, Department of Hematology, University of Cambridge, UK. Prof. Allain has special interest in transfusion medicine education, scientific research and clinical service. He has dedicated his career to blood safety and transfusion transmitted infectious diseases, and has made major contributions to the assessment and management of haemophilia. In 1983 he was amongst the first to recognize the problem of acquired immunodeficiency in haemophiliacs.

Figure 1 Professor Jean-Pierre Allain.

Prof. Kenrad E. Nelson (Figure 2) is currently professor of Epidemiology, International Health and Medicine at Johns Hopkins University Medical Institutions in Baltimore, USA. Prof. Nelson as a well-respected and remarkable epidemiologist, was elected a fellow in the Section on Medical Sciences by the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2006 for his unique contributions to the understanding of the epidemiology of virus-induced disease, particularly hepatitis and AIDS in Thailand. In 2006 he was elected president of the American Epidemiological Society. He also received a Recognition Medal from the U.S. Civilian Research and Development Foundation for his collaboration with scientists from the Republic of Georgia.

Figure 2 Professor Kenrad E. Nelson.

His special interest is in HIV/AIDS, viral hepatitis, tuberculosis and other infectious diseases. He has active research projects currently at several international sites, including Thailand, Bangladesh, China, Taiwan and Republic of Georgia. He has published extensively in the field of disease transmission. Nelson has held several named lectureships; authored several abstracts, journal articles and books; and advises doctoral and master’s students. He has also been a participant in more than 50 research grants. He has been the author or co-author of 481 scientific papers and 3 books, including Infectious Diseases Epidemiology: Theory and Practice, a widely used text in courses in the Epidemiology of Infectious Diseases.

Prof. Sentot Santoso (Figure 3) works as a scientist at the Institute for Clinical Immunology and Transfusion Medicine in Justus Liebig University, Giessen, Germany and developed his research career in the field of Platelet and Granulocyte Immunobiology. Based on the his continuous and significant scientific contribution in this field, he has received a scientific award in 2005 from the German Society of Blood Transfusion for his outstanding work on immunohematology and cellular hemostasis. Furthermore, he was appointed by the International Society on Blood Transfusion as Chairman for the Nomenclature Committee (from 2003) and active member of the Scientific Standardization Committee of the International Society on Thrombosis and Hemostasis (from 1998). He is the Chairman of the Platelet Immunology Working Party of the International Society on Blood Transfusion from 2012.

Figure 3 Professor Sentot Santoso.

With the scientific guideline/instructions from these experienced experts, we are confident that AOB will progress steadily, and will be a prime journal for transfusion medicine and hematology.




Conflicts of Interest: The author has no conflicts of interest to declare.

doi: 10.21037/aob.2016.12.01
Cite this article as: Editorial Office. The distinguished editorial board members of Annals of Blood. Ann Blood 2017;2:1.